Africa GBV Observatory › Namibia
Namibia · case-linked public register · from August 2026
Namibia GBV Tracker
Open August or September, select a reported fatal or serious non-fatal case, and read its source-linked history on this site. Case IDs remain stable as evidence and judicial outcomes change.
1 indexed fatal person · 13 indexed serious non-fatal events
Coverage window: 1 August–12 September 2026. Checked: 12 September 2026. The counted cases are an incomplete convenience collection from public police and news accounts. They are not a random statistical sample and are not Namibia’s national totals.
August · 1 fatal / 12 non-fatal · September through 12th · 0 fatal / 1 non-fatal · Case records · Uncounted leads · Methodology
Monthly evidence ledger
| Open month | Fatal people | Serious non-fatal events | Cumulative fatal | Cumulative non-fatal |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2026 | 1 | 12 | 1 | 12 |
| September 2026 · through 12th | 0 | 1 | 1 | 13 |
September is still in progress. Zeros mean no qualifying case currently indexed in that category, not no violence. August remains open to retrospectively documented cases. The events in the two columns use different units and must not be added into an undifferentiated “GBV case” total.
Victim and reported actor gender
| Subset of indexed records | Cases | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|
| Fatal: man suspected → girl | 1 | Otavi police investigation; the suspected man later died, without conviction |
| Non-fatal: man alleged → woman or girl | 9 | Eight August allegations and one September allegation |
| Non-fatal: woman alleged → man | 1 | Otjozondjupa attempted-murder allegation |
| Non-fatal: male actor alleged → survivor gender unknown or household mixed/unknown | 3 | Age-withheld child, age-withheld child and three-person Oniimwandi household |
Among the single indexed fatal person, the police-suspected man → girl pairing is 1/1. Among 13 distinct serious non-fatal events, nine are alleged man → woman/girl (9/13, 69.2%), one alleged woman → man (1/13, 7.7%), and three involve child gender unknown or a multi-survivor household with unknown individual genders (3/13, 23.1%). The fatal and non-fatal denominators stay separate. These are small, source-dependent descriptions of allegations, not convictions or national perpetration rates.
Open an individual case
| Open case history | Safe label | Victim gender | Reported actor | Incident date | Location | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NA-GBV-2026-001 | Otjozondjupa child · identity withheld | Girl | Man, suspected; identity in police follow-up | 7 August 2026 | Otjozondjupa · Otjozondjupa | Police-confirmed death; alleged sexual-violence nexus |
| NA-NF-2026-001 | Omusati adult survivor · identity withheld | Woman | Two men, 20 and 37, accused | 6 August 2026 | Omusati · Omusati | Police-reported allegation |
| NA-NF-2026-002 | Omusati child · identity withheld | Unknown (child) | Man, accused; shared household | 6 August 2026 | Omusati · Omusati | Police-reported allegation |
| NA-NF-2026-003 | Omusati child · identity withheld | Girl | Man, alleged uncle | 6 August 2026 | Omusati · Omusati | Police-reported allegation |
| NA-NF-2026-004 | ǁKharas adult survivor · identity withheld | Woman | Man, alleged former partner | 7 August 2026 | ǁKharas · ||Kharas | Police-reported allegation |
| NA-NF-2026-005 | Oshikoto household survivors · identities withheld | Unknown (three people) | Man, accused; domestic violence classification by police | 7 August 2026 | Oshikoto · Oshikoto | Police-reported allegation |
| NA-NF-2026-006 | Omusati child · identity withheld | Girl | Teenage male housemate accused | 10 August 2026 | Omusati · Omusati | Police-reported allegation |
| NA-NF-2026-007 | Omusati child · identity withheld | Unknown (child) | Teenage male housemate accused | 12 August 2026 | Omusati · Omusati | Police-reported allegation |
| NA-NF-2026-008 | Otjozondjupa child · identity withheld | Girl | Man, accused | 12 August 2026 | Otjozondjupa · Otjozondjupa | Police-reported allegation |
| NA-NF-2026-009 | Khomas child · identity withheld | Girl | Man accused | 14 August 2026 | Khomas · Khomas | Police-reported allegation |
| NA-NF-2026-010 | Omusati adult survivor · identity withheld | Woman | Man accused; not arrested as of report | 14 August 2026 | Omusati · Omusati | Police-reported allegation |
| NA-NF-2026-011 | Oshikoto child · identity withheld | Girl | Unknown man accused | 21 August 2026 | Oshikoto · Oshikoto | Police-reported allegation |
| NA-NF-2026-012 | Otjozondjupa adult survivor · identity withheld | Man | Woman, alleged partner | Before 23 August 2026; August weekend report | Otjozondjupa · Otjozondjupa | Police-reported allegation |
| NA-NF-2026-013 | Ohangwena adult survivor · identity withheld | Woman | Man, accused | 4 September 2026 | Ohangwena · Ohangwena | Police-reported allegation |
Individual case histories
Otjozondjupa child · identity withheld · NA-GBV-2026-001
Measure: One fatal person · Incident: 7 August 2026 · Location: Otjozondjupa · Otjozondjupa.
Victim/survivor gender: Girl · Reported actor: Man, suspected; identity in police follow-up.
What is reported: Police said a child was sexually assaulted and shot on a farm near Otavi on 7 August. A later police account identified the person sought in connection with her killing; the girl’s body had been found on 8 August. This is one death, with a reported sexual-violence component, never a second non-fatal case.
Justice stage: The suspected man reportedly died by suicide on 14 August during a police confrontation. The investigation was reported ongoing; he was not convicted.
Evidence and limits: Police-confirmed death; alleged sexual-violence nexus. The reported sexual assault and the connection of the deceased suspect to the crime follow police reports; neither a trial finding nor an independent forensic record is available. Name and image of the child are deliberately withheld. Date basis: Evening of Friday 7 August; body found Saturday 8 August.
Sources: Namibian Sun · initial police account · 11 Aug · Namibian Sun · police follow-up · 17 Aug · Checked: 12 September 2026 · Back to month
Omusati adult survivor · identity withheld · NA-NF-2026-001
Measure: One serious non-fatal event · Incident: 6 August 2026 · Location: Omusati · Omusati.
Victim/survivor gender: Woman · Reported actor: Two men, 20 and 37, accused.
What is reported: The regional police commander told The Namibian that two men had been arrested in an alleged rape of a adult woman on Thursday evening. One alleged event and survivor are indexed even though two men are implicated.
Justice stage: Two men arrested; police investigation ongoing in the 8 August account.
Evidence and limits: Police-reported allegation. Rape remains alleged; no later adjudication was located. Date basis: Thursday before 8 August report.
Sources: The Namibian · police · 8 Aug · Checked: 12 September 2026 · Back to month
Omusati child · identity withheld · NA-NF-2026-002
Measure: One serious non-fatal event · Incident: 6 August 2026 · Location: Omusati · Omusati.
Victim/survivor gender: Unknown (child) · Reported actor: Man, accused; shared household.
What is reported: The same police account described a separate alleged sexual assault of a age-withheld child child by an adult resident of the same household. This is distinct from the adult woman’s case in Okagongo.
Justice stage: Not arrested at time of 8 August police report; outcome unknown.
Evidence and limits: Police-reported allegation. The article calls the child a minor without specifying sex; do not infer girl from other reports. Date basis: Thursday before 8 August report.
Sources: The Namibian · police · 8 Aug · Checked: 12 September 2026 · Back to month
Omusati child · identity withheld · NA-NF-2026-003
Measure: One serious non-fatal event · Incident: 6 August 2026 · Location: Omusati · Omusati.
Victim/survivor gender: Girl · Reported actor: Man, alleged uncle.
What is reported: An Omusati police follow-up reported the alleged rape of an child by an uncle on 6 August. A later arrest story refers to the same case, not a second August assault.
Justice stage: Suspect arrested by 18 August according to regional police commander; no verdict reported.
Evidence and limits: Police-reported allegation. Child is anonymous; incident date and arrest timing are attributed to a police follow-up. Date basis: Police follow-up says suspect on run since 6 August after alleged offence.
Sources: Informanté · arrest update · 18 Aug · Checked: 12 September 2026 · Back to month
ǁKharas adult survivor · identity withheld · NA-NF-2026-004
Measure: One serious non-fatal event · Incident: 7 August 2026 · Location: ǁKharas · ||Kharas.
Victim/survivor gender: Woman · Reported actor: Man, alleged former partner.
What is reported: Windhoek Observer reported a police allegation that a adult woman was raped by a man with whom she had recently ended an intimate relationship. The reported separation is context, not a claim about motive.
Justice stage: Suspect arrested; police investigation ongoing as of 9 August.
Evidence and limits: Police-reported allegation. NAMPA reported a ǁKharas allegation with the same ages/date/location; this is one incident, not independent cases. Date basis: Police report places alleged event/report at 06:20 Friday.
Sources: Windhoek Observer · police · 9 Aug · Checked: 12 September 2026 · Back to month
Oshikoto household survivors · identities withheld · NA-NF-2026-005
Measure: One serious non-fatal event · Incident: 7 August 2026 · Location: Oshikoto · Oshikoto.
Victim/survivor gender: Unknown (three people) · Reported actor: Man, accused; domestic violence classification by police.
What is reported: Police described one domestic-violence-related attempted murder at a sleeping household. Three people sustained injuries ranging from minor to serious and were referred for hospital treatment. The unit is one event affecting three survivors; their individual sexes were not established in the accessible police report.
Justice stage: Suspect arrested and expected to appear in court 10 August; later outcome unverified.
Evidence and limits: Police-reported allegation. The reported age range withheld in other coverage is not a gender breakdown. This event must not be combined with two unrelated homicides in the same police roundup. Date basis: Friday before 9 August police weekend report.
Sources: Informanté · police weekend report · 9 Aug · Checked: 12 September 2026 · Back to month
Omusati child · identity withheld · NA-NF-2026-006
Measure: One serious non-fatal event · Incident: 10 August 2026 · Location: Omusati · Omusati.
Victim/survivor gender: Girl · Reported actor: Teenage male housemate accused.
What is reported: The Omusati regional police commander described an alleged rape of a age-withheld child girl by a person living in the same household. It is distinct from the child case reported two days later in another village.
Justice stage: Suspect arrested according to 14 August police account; later outcome unknown.
Evidence and limits: Police-reported allegation. The report disagrees with itself on the ages of the suspects in the introductory sentence and detailed narrative, so the accused’s exact age is omitted here. Date basis: Monday before 14 August report.
Sources: Informanté · Omusati police · 14 Aug · Checked: 12 September 2026 · Back to month
Omusati child · identity withheld · NA-NF-2026-007
Measure: One serious non-fatal event · Incident: 12 August 2026 · Location: Omusati · Omusati.
Victim/survivor gender: Unknown (child) · Reported actor: Teenage male housemate accused.
What is reported: Police described an alleged sexual assault of a age-withheld child child by a teenage resident of the same house, two days after the separate Omakuva incident.
Justice stage: Suspect arrested according to the 14 August report; further judicial stage not verified.
Evidence and limits: Police-reported allegation. The report does not state the child’s sex and conflicts about accused ages; neither should be guessed. Date basis: Two days after Monday incident in 14 August report.
Sources: Informanté · Omusati police · 14 Aug · Checked: 12 September 2026 · Back to month
Otjozondjupa child · identity withheld · NA-NF-2026-008
Measure: One serious non-fatal event · Incident: 12 August 2026 · Location: Otjozondjupa · Otjozondjupa.
Victim/survivor gender: Girl · Reported actor: Man, accused.
What is reported: NAMPA’s 17 August police bulletin says a adult man was arrested after an allegation involving a child at an Otjozondjupa guesthouse the previous Wednesday.
Justice stage: Arrest reported on 16 August; September media describe a bail proceeding, which is an update to this August event.
Evidence and limits: Police-reported allegation. The publicly accessible NAMPA bulletin truncates its account at the paywall. Preserve only police-reported age, setting and timing; do not treat later bail coverage as a new assault. Date basis: “Last Wednesday” in NAMPA 17 August bulletin.
Sources: NAMPA · police bulletin · 17 Aug · Checked: 12 September 2026 · Back to month
Khomas child · identity withheld · NA-NF-2026-009
Measure: One serious non-fatal event · Incident: 14 August 2026 · Location: Khomas · Khomas.
Victim/survivor gender: Girl · Reported actor: Man accused.
What is reported: A police weekend crime report described an alleged rape of a child in Khomas, on Friday.
Justice stage: Man arrested according to the 18 August report; case outcome unknown.
Evidence and limits: Police-reported allegation. The newspaper also reports a distinct alleged rape near Ohakapeke on the same date. Date basis: Friday in 18 August weekend police report.
Sources: Namibian Sun · weekend police report · 18 Aug · Checked: 12 September 2026 · Back to month
Omusati adult survivor · identity withheld · NA-NF-2026-010
Measure: One serious non-fatal event · Incident: 14 August 2026 · Location: Omusati · Omusati.
Victim/survivor gender: Woman · Reported actor: Man accused; not arrested as of report.
What is reported: The same police roundup describes an alleged rape of a adult woman after a knife threat near Ohakapeke. This is a different locality and survivor from the Havana case.
Justice stage: Suspect not arrested when the weekend report was issued; later outcome unknown.
Evidence and limits: Police-reported allegation. Exact site and survivor identity are withheld; use no inference about relationship. Date basis: Friday night in 18 August weekend police report.
Sources: Namibian Sun · weekend police report · 18 Aug · Checked: 12 September 2026 · Back to month
Oshikoto child · identity withheld · NA-NF-2026-011
Measure: One serious non-fatal event · Incident: 21 August 2026 · Location: Oshikoto · Oshikoto.
Victim/survivor gender: Girl · Reported actor: Unknown man accused.
What is reported: Windhoek Observer reported that police were investigating an alleged sexual assault of a child after an unknown man entered the room where she was staying.
Justice stage: Accused not identified or arrested in the police account published 23 August.
Evidence and limits: Police-reported allegation. No name, photograph or precise residence published here. Date basis: Police account gives 21 August morning.
Sources: Windhoek Observer · police · 23 Aug · Checked: 12 September 2026 · Back to month
Otjozondjupa adult survivor · identity withheld · NA-NF-2026-012
Measure: One serious non-fatal event · Incident: Before 23 August 2026; August weekend report · Location: Otjozondjupa · Otjozondjupa.
Victim/survivor gender: Man · Reported actor: Woman, alleged partner.
What is reported: Police said a man sustained serious head injuries after his girlfriend allegedly struck him with a stone during an altercation. The source classifies it as domestic violence and describes one attempted-murder allegation.
Justice stage: The woman was arrested and charged with attempted murder read with the Domestic Violence Act; investigation ongoing as of 23 August.
Evidence and limits: Police-reported allegation. A single weekend account establishes August but not the specific day; publish the date interval honestly. No conviction is implied. Date basis: Police weekend report, published Sunday 23 August; exact day not stated.
Sources: Informanté · police · 23 Aug · Checked: 12 September 2026 · Back to month
Ohangwena adult survivor · identity withheld · NA-NF-2026-013
Measure: One serious non-fatal event · Incident: 4 September 2026 · Location: Ohangwena · Ohangwena.
Victim/survivor gender: Woman · Reported actor: Man, accused.
What is reported: Windhoek Observer reported a police allegation of rape involving a adult woman in the Epembe area on 4 September.
Justice stage: Man arrested and in police custody according to the 6 September report; investigation continuing.
Evidence and limits: Police-reported allegation. Do not publish the survivor’s name, household details or a claim of guilt. Date basis: Friday 4 September, early morning, in police account.
Sources: Windhoek Observer · police · 6 Sep · Checked: 12 September 2026 · Back to month
Uncounted classification and dating leads
A lead remains visible even when an incident date falls outside the coverage window, its month is unknown, or available reporting has not established a GBV nexus. The following items are not added to any monthly total.
ǁKharas child · identity withheld · NA-LEAD-2026-001
Time: 31 July; published 2 August · Status: Before coverage window; not an August event
An August story describes an alleged sexual assault of a boy on the previous Friday, 31 July. It belongs outside the register starting 1 August, even though it was discovered by an August search.
Source trail: Informanté · 2 Aug story of 31 Jul
Fernandu Christine Chipi, 22 · NA-LEAD-2026-002
Time: Body found 1 August · Kavango West · Status: Homicide; GBV nexus not established
Police reported that an Angolan domestic worker was killed and a adult woman was later charged with murder and arson. A court appearance was reported, but the available accounts do not establish a gender-related motive or intimate/family relationship. A female victim and a female accused do not alone establish GBV; this homicide is visible for classification review but excluded from the fatal-GBV count.
Source trail: Informanté · police · 2 Aug · Windhoek Observer · court · 6 Aug
Ohangwena child · identity withheld · NA-LEAD-2026-003
Time: Published 2 September · Omusati · Status: Non-fatal allegation; event month unknown
Informanté and NBC describe police arresting a male uncle after an allegation involving his age-withheld child nephew. The police account expressly says the alleged incident occurred at an unknown date and time. It cannot be assigned to September merely because an arrest and stories occurred then.
Source trail: Informanté · police · 2 Sep
Christof Frederik · older case justice update · NA-LEAD-2026-004
Time: Court story 27 August · incident 2 May 2024 · Status: Older case; justice update only
The Namibian described a 2026 pretrial appearance in the alleged sexual and gender-related murder of transgender woman Christof Frederik. The death was in May 2024, so the court update belongs on an older-case justice follow-up, not the August 2026 death total.
Source trail: The Namibian · pretrial · 27 Aug
What this register can support
Within the 13 indexed serious non-fatal events, six concern children under 16, and a seventh concerns a child. One police-reported attempted domestic murder concerns an injured male partner and a woman alleged to have attacked him. Several sexual-violence allegations involve people sharing a household. This describes the retrieved cases, not prevalence or a statistically representative pattern. Child sex and reported actor details remain unknown in some accounts; without complete denominator data, no inference about national sex distribution is defensible.
Questions for service providers and policymakers: Were child-sensitive investigative and referral pathways available in each reported household case? What happened after the Onayena household attack and Otjozondjupa attempted-murder arrest? How promptly were protection orders served after high-risk reports, and can disaggregated service/justice outcomes be reported safely? Those are questions for follow-up, not claims of a proven institutional failure.
Policy, official statistics and support
The Combating of Domestic Violence Act 4 of 2003 provides a legal basis for protection orders and police duties. On 12 September the president said protection orders should be served within 24 hours, as The Namibian reports. This is an announced implementation priority; do not present a completed audit of compliance. Track the date of instruction, documented service times and independently verified outcomes in future reviews.
Police statistics reported by Namibian Sun show 654 GBV cases in Ohangwena and 448 in Oshikoto for the 2025/26 financial year, including 197 and 189 rape reports respectively. These figures are administrative reports over a different period and must not be added to the 2026 individual-case monthly ledger or used as the denominator for its gender breakdown.
Confidential support: LifeLine/ChildLine Namibia lists 106 for GBV and 116 for children, free and available 24/7. In immediate danger, contact emergency services or the nearest police station. No indexed record assumes whether a survivor used these services.
Oshikoto child survivor · identity withheld · NA-LEAD-2026-004
Police reported alleged repeated sexual assaults spanning August and September, but no separately dated event is established. Retain outside both monthly totals. Exact age, village and unnecessary family details are withheld.
Oshikoto child survivor · identity withheld · NA-LEAD-2026-005
A separate police report gives a September complaint and investigation status but not the alleged assault date. Retain as an undated lead; the report date does not determine the event month. Exact age, village and family details are withheld. Source lineage: Informanté · 20 September 2026, citing the NamPol weekend crime report.
Methodology and safeguards
Start date 1 August 2026. The fatal column counts each qualifying person who died; the serious non-fatal column counts each distinct violent event, even if more than one survivor is affected. A death also involving sexual assault appears only in the fatal column. Assign an event to a month using a documented incident/death date or a wholly contained August interval; when the event date is unknown, keep it outside the month. Arrest, publication, trial and sentencing dates are not incident dates. De-duplicate recurring police stories using age, place, date and event details.
The monitored set is a convenience collection, not statistically random; “random cases” may be used colloquially only to communicate incompleteness. Display attributed allegation versus conviction; a woman killed is not automatically a GBV death. Record victim and actor sex separately, including unknown and multiple-survivor events. Do not infer an individual’s gender from a child’s age or an alleged offender’s sex. Zero indexed events do not mean zero real events.
Living survivors and all children in sexual-violence cases are anonymous here. No photos, exact home locations, graphic details or clinical records are reused. Sources may repeat the same police briefing and are not independent corroboration. Submit corrections privately using the evidence submission form; do not send confidential survivor details through a public comment.
Corrections and version history
Initial Namibia edition · 12 September 2026: August 1 fatal person and 12 serious non-fatal events; September through 12 September 0 indexed fatal and 1 serious non-fatal event. Four uncounted leads are linked. No earlier Namibia edition is revised.
Date decision: A boy’s ǁKharas assault appeared in an August story but allegedly occurred on 31 July, before this tracker’s start date. A September story involving a age-withheld child boy explicitly gives an unknown event date; it stays outside both monthly figures. The August pretrial story concerning Christof Frederik concerns a May 2024 killing, retained solely as a justice follow-up lead.
Classification decision: The arrest and first court appearance after Fernandu Christine Chipi’s death establish a homicide accusation but not a gender-related motive or relationship. Her killing is not silently transformed into femicide. If stronger evidence establishes the nexus, show the previous and revised classification, sources, and effect on August and cumulative totals.
Every later material change should record the date, stable ID, previous statement, revised statement, source and monthly/cumulative count effect. Maintain court outcomes and correct wrongful attributions publicly.
27 September 2026 · NA-LEAD-2026-004–005: Two child-survivor allegations retained without monthly assignment; totals unchanged.
Sunday cross-country review
Sundays · 9:00 a.m. America/Edmonton: prepare one source-linked approval packet covering Namibia and every already-published country. Recheck older dates, deaths, survivor privacy, actor gender, police/court outcomes and corrections. The editorial schedule prepares suggested changes; it does not automatically publish them.
Africa directory · Submit evidence or a correction
14 September 2026 · privacy review: Exact child and survivor ages, small localities and identifying source slugs removed from the public page; publication names and dates retained; totals unchanged.
